

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMBINED LOCAL AUTHORITIES HELD IN THE MIRAMBEENA RESORT - DARWIN ON THURSDAY, 20 MARCH 2014 AT 10:30 AM

1 Welcome & Apologies

1.1 Welcome

The meeting opened at 11:55 am.

<u>Note 1:</u> It was mutually agreed that whilst all three groups of newly appointed members from the new Tiwi Islands Local Authorities were in Darwin for the Inductions / Training over the three days (Tuesday 18th to Thursday 20th March) that a combined special meeting would be held to facilitate the appointment of the Chair of each Local Authority.

<u>Note 2:</u> Council appointed the new Local Authority members at the Ordinary Council Meeting held on Tuesday 11th March at Pirlangimpi and these new members were then invited to attend the Darwin induction / training sessions the following week. Due to this short timeframe some Local Authority members were unable to attend due to work and other family commitments.

The Mayor Lynette De Santis welcomed councillors, local authority members and staff.

1.2 Present

Mayor: Lynette De Santis

Councillors: Deputy Mayor Pirrawayingi, Anita Moreen, Therese Bourke, Irene Tipiloura, John Naden, Barry Puruntatameri, Leslie Tungutalum, Crystal Johnson, Brian Tipungwuti, Gawin Tipiloura, Manyi Rioli.

Officers: Alan Hudson (CEO), Rosanna De Santis (Director Community Support), Maina Brown (Executive Assistant / Records).

<u>Local Authority Ordinary Members – Wurrumiyanga</u>

Francisco Babui, Marie Tipiloura, John Pilakui, Richard Tungutalum, Jane Puatjimi, Bonaventure Timaepatua, Mavis Kerinaiua, Teresita Puruntatameri, Richard Tipumantumirri, Kevin Doolan.

Absent: Miriam Tipungwuti.

<u>Local Authority Ordinary Members – Pirlangimpi</u>

Anne Marie Puruntatameri, Patrick Puruntatameri, Lawrence Costa, Carol Puruntatameri, Bernard Pangiraminni, Regis Pangiraminni.

Absent: Irene Mungatopi, Donna Burak, Henry Dunn.

Local Authority Ordinary Members – Milikapiti

Mary Moreen, Thomas Puruntatameri, Connell Tipiloura, Pius Tipungwuti, David Boyd. (invited observer Andrew Bush).

Absent: Loretta Cook, Bronson De Santis, Christine Joran.

Minutes: Bruce Moller (Governance Manager)

1.3 Apologies

Nil.

1.4 Leave of Absence

Nil.

1.5 Declaration of Interest of Members or Staff

Nil.

1.6 Election of Chairperson

The Mayor was appointed as Chairperson.

1.7 Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Nil

2 BUSINESS ARISING

Nil

3 CORRESPONDENCE

Nil

4 GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

5 REPORTS FOR DECISION

5.1 PROCEDURES FOR ELECTION OF LOCAL AUTHORITY CHAIR

This report is prepared to assist Local Authority Members to discuss and agree on the steps for selecting and appointing the Local Authority Chair.

It was decided and agreed by the group to conduct a ballot by seeking nominations for the position of Chair for each Local Authority, then confirming with each nominee if they accepted their nomination, and then a show of hands to select the successful nominee.

Milikapiti Local Authority - Chair

There were two people nominated by members:

- 1. Pius Tipungwuti (Pius declined to accept the nomination)
- 2. David Boyd (David accepted his nomination).
 Therefore, due to their being only one nomination David Boyd was duly appointed to the position of Chair for the Milikapiti Local Authority.

Pirlangimpi Local Authority - Chair

There was only one nomination put forward by members:

Lawrence Costa (Lawrence accepted his nomination)
 Therefore, due to their being only one nomination Lawrence Costa was duly appointed to the position of Chair for the Milikapiti Local Authority.

Wurrumiyanga Local Authority - Chair

There were five people nominated by members:

- 1. Gawin Tipiloura (Gawin accepted his nomination)
- 2. John Ross Pilakui (John Ross accepted his nomination).
- 3. Kevin Doolan (Kevin declined his nomination)
- 4. Mavis Kerinaiua (Mavis accepted her nomination)
- 5. Richard Tungutalum (Richard accepted his nomination)

It was decided that due to the number of accepted nominations (4) that a secret ballot be undertaken. The CEO was appointed as the independent ballot returning officer.

Of the (18) approved positions on the Wurrumiyanga Local Authority, one position was vacant, and one member was unable to attend (Miriam Tipungwuti). This left 16 ballots to be counted – final results are as below:

- 1. Gawin Tipiloura (3 votes)
- 2. John Ross Pilakui (5 votes).
- 3. Kevin Doolan (1 vote informal)
- 4. Mavis Kerinaiua (4 votes)
- 5. Richard Tungutalum (3 votes)

Therefore, John Ross Pilakui (with 5 votes) was duly appointed to the position of Chair for the Wurrumiyanga Local Authority.

Following the Local Authorities Induction / Training Workshop in Darwin the newly appointed Chair of each Local Authority will now be available to assist with the preliminary setup and general administrative arrangements.

Council has confirmed the following dates for each new Local Authority for their first community based meetings:

- Milikapiti Local Authority Tuesday 25th March 2014
- Wurrumiyanga Local Authority Tuesday 29th April 2014
- Pirlangimpi Local Authority Tuesday 27th May 2014

6 REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

Nil

7 Closure The meeting closed at 12:08 pm.